Rotary District 7690 - Piedmont NC - Zone 33

Home Club Administration Public Image Membership Service Projects The Rotary Foundation Youth Service District and Club Database Other Rotary Resources

Where is District 7690

District Governor
Dick Meisky

About Richard D. (Dick) Meisky

Dick was born January 13, 1918 in Denver (Lancaster County), Pennsylvania.

At the age of two he moved with his family to High Point, North Carolina.  He graduated from High Point High School in 1937.  He was proud of his high school athletic endeavors and was a member of the state championship basketball team his senior year.

He was awarded football and basketball scholarships to attend Presbyterian College in Clinton, South Carolina where he graduated in 1941.

He married Marjorie Barker Meisky in 1939 and they had three children.

He was called to active duty in the United States Army in July 1941.  He was a Second Lieutenant with the 751st Tank Battalion where he served as a tank commander.  He received five battle stars and the Silver Star.  He was involved in the D-Day landings in World War II and retired as a Major.
He attended the Command & General Staff School at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas and served as an instructor at the school.

He returned to High Point in 1946 to become physical director of the YMCA.  He also spent several years at the YMCA in Knoxville, Tennessee.

In 1953, he went to work for Hood System Bank in High Point, later to become Central Savings Bank.  In 1978, he was elected president and chairman of the board.  In 1994, the bank was sold to Bank of Troy and Dick became a consultant to the bank.

He served on the board of directors of the following:  High Point YMCA, House of Prayer, United Fund, and Chamber of Commerce.  He served as president of the alumni board of Presbyterian College and board member of the Scotsman Club of Presbyterian College.

He was active in the High Point YMCA and served as president on three occasions.  He was the first recipient of the Hall of Honor Distinguished Service Award from the Southeast Region YMCA.

He was active in First Presbyterian Church for 54 years and served as elder and Sunday School teacher.

He joined the Rotary Club of High Point in November 1953 and served as president in 1964-65.  He served as district governor in 1984-85.

At the district level, he chaired the PolioPlus Committee.  He received The Rotary Foundation Citation for Meritorious Service in 1996.

He died on April 23, 2005 at High Point Regional Hospital.

- PRID Ken Morgan (2017)

DGND Van Lankford (2023-2024)
DGN Debbie Scott (2022-2023)
DGE Chris Justice (2021-2022)

DG Tommy Rosser (2020-2021)

PDG Randy Perkins (2019-2020)
PDG Claudia Cannady (2018-2019)
PDG Lloyd Navarro (2017-2018)
PDG Jon Spillman (2016-2017)
PDG Larry Lassiter (2015-2016)
PDG Patrick Eakes (2014-2015)
PDG Cookie Billings (2013-2014)
PDG Rick Snider (2012-2013)
PDG Terry Titus (2011-2012)
PDG Wes Patterson (2010-2011)
PDG Michael Conrad (2009-2010)
PDG Charles Allen (2008-2009)
PDG David McCoy (2007-2008)
PDG Mitzi Ellis (2006-2007)
PDG Phil Morris (2005-2006)
PDG Don Allred (2004-2005)
PDG Bob Newton (2003-2004)
PDG Henry Brown (2002-2003)
PDG Stuart Fountain (2001-2002)
PDG Jack Green (2000-2001)
PDG John B. Haynes (1999-2000)
PDG Stuart Fountain (1998-1999)
PDG D. Kim Setliff (1997-1998)
PDG Carol Summerlin (1996-1997)
PDG Arnold King (1995-1996)
PDG Charles Younce (1994-1995)
PDG Wilbur Handcock (1993-1994)
PDG Ray Taylor (1992-1993)
PDG Everett Padgett (1991-1992)
PDG John Justice (1990-1991)
PDG William Smith Kirk (1989-1990)
PDG Ralph H. Bowden (1988-1989)
PDG W.B. Hull (1987-1988)
PDG Albert M. Ankrom (1986-1987)
PDG Philip S. Brown (1985-1986)
PDG Richard D. Meisky (1984-1985)
PDG Frank H. (Chip) Wood (1983-1984)
PDG Buck Campbell (1983-1984)
PDG Wade Phillips (1982-1983)
PDG Felton J. Capel (1981-1982)
PDG Marcus B. Crotts (1980-1981)
PDG Thomas F. McKnight (1979-1980)
PDG Sam Cranford (1978-1979)
PDG Frank H. (Chip) Wood (1977-1978)
PDG Robert L. Sprinkle (1976-1977)
PDG T.C. Plexico (1975-1976)
PDG Bud Toler (1974-1975)
PDG W.D. Lee (1973-1974)
PDG David Rankin (1972-1973)
PDG Dick Johnson (1971-1972)
PDG Charles Wesley Lowry (1970-1971)
PDG Henry Wilburn Anderson (1969-1970)
PDG Austin M. Garriss (1968-1969)
PDG John A. (Jack) Dibb (1967-1968)
PDG James F. Lambeth, Jr. (1966-1967)
PDG Leo J. Heer (1965-1966)
PDG Floyd L. Knight (1964-1965)
PDG Charles Wiley Phillips, Sr. (1963-1964)
PDG John W. Harden (1962-1963)
PDG Carl Vann Tyner (1961-1962)
PDG Walter C. Odell, Sr. (1960-1961)
PDG John Spurgeon Edwards (1959-1960)
PDG Henry W. (Hal) Little, Jr. (1958-1959)
PDG Harry Brown Finch (1957-1958)

An extraordinary collection of Rotary graphics
The Rotary name and logo are the exclusive property of Rotary International and are used here under Rotary International Guidelines.
Special thanks to Tord Elfwendahl of the Stockholm Strand Rotaryklub (Sweden) for his incredible Rotary graphic images which we have used throughout this web site. You can use them too. (Other Rotary graphics can be found on the Rotary International Website.)
Please address comments, corrections or concerns about this Website to Phil Morris, Web Manager

© Rotary District 7690. All rights reserved.