Rotary District 7690 - Piedmont NC - Zone 33

Home Club Administration Public Image Membership Service Projects The Rotary Foundation Youth Service District and Club Database Other Rotary Resources

Where is District 7690

District Governor
Phil Morris
(click on photo to enlarge)

About O. Ray Taylor

Ray was born on May 4, 1924 in Cincinnati, Ohio. 

He graduated from Sheridan High School in Indiana in 1942 and from the University of Missouri in 1947.

He married Elizabeth Jean Kitterman in Noblesville, Indiana in January 1947.  They have one son.

From 1947 to 1951, he taught high school in Athens, Illinois.

He began his career with Firestone Industrial Products in 1951 and spent 32 years in various management positions.   From 1971-73, he was the managing director of Firestone General Products in Sydney, Australia.  He also spent time in Newark, New Jersey; Detroit, Michigan; and East Providence, Rhode Island.

After retirement from Firestone, Ray and Betty moved to Pinehurst, North Carolina.  Ray spent three years as adjunct marketing professor at Golden Gate University, Fort Bragg, North Carolina. From 1984 to 2001, he was president of ORT Associates, a marketing and sales consulting company.

Ray served on the Noblesville, Indiana Chamber of Commerce board, was precinct committeeman in Noblesville and spent two terms on the City Council. 

He served on the local Girl Scout Council in Pinehurst, on the Pinehurst Civic Council; and the Pinehurst Merchants Guild.

He joined the Rotary Club of Pinehurst in October 1983 and served as president in 1987-88.  He served as district governor in 1992-93.

At the district level, Ray served four years on the district finance committee.  He attended ten international conventions. He was a member of the RI Fellowships Committee and served as chairman in 2000.

Ray was a Life Member of International Fellowship Golfing Rotarians and Charter/Life Member or United States Golfing Fellowship where he served as president from 1999-2001.  He served as chairman of the USGFR Pinehurst Tournament in 1993 and as chairman of IGFR Pinehurst Tournament in 1998 and 2011.

He was a polio survivor and founder of the Rotary International Polio Survivors & Friends Action Group.  In 2003, he founded the Sandhills Post-Polio Group. 

Ray received the Rotary International Service Above Self Award in 1997.

Ray died at Moore Regional Hospital on February 16, 2016.

-PRID Ken Morgan (2017)

DGND Van Lankford (2023-2024)
DGN Debbie Scott (2022-2023)
DGE Chris Justice (2021-2022)

DG Tommy Rosser (2020-2021)

PDG Randy Perkins (2019-2020)
PDG Claudia Cannady (2018-2019)
PDG Lloyd Navarro (2017-2018)
PDG Jon Spillman (2016-2017)
PDG Larry Lassiter (2015-2016)
PDG Patrick Eakes (2014-2015)
PDG Cookie Billings (2013-2014)
PDG Rick Snider (2012-2013)
PDG Terry Titus (2011-2012)
PDG Wes Patterson (2010-2011)
PDG Michael Conrad (2009-2010)
PDG Charles Allen (2008-2009)
PDG David McCoy (2007-2008)
PDG Mitzi Ellis (2006-2007)
PDG Phil Morris (2005-2006)
PDG Don Allred (2004-2005)
PDG Bob Newton (2003-2004)
PDG Henry Brown (2002-2003)
PDG Stuart Fountain (2001-2002)
PDG Jack Green (2000-2001)
PDG John B. Haynes (1999-2000)
PDG Stuart Fountain (1998-1999)
PDG D. Kim Setliff (1997-1998)
PDG Carol Summerlin (1996-1997)
PDG Arnold King (1995-1996)
PDG Charles Younce (1994-1995)
PDG Wilbur Handcock (1993-1994)
PDG Ray Taylor (1992-1993)
PDG Everett Padgett (1991-1992)
PDG John Justice (1990-1991)
PDG William Smith Kirk (1989-1990)
PDG Ralph H. Bowden (1988-1989)
PDG W.B. Hull (1987-1988)
PDG Albert M. Ankrom (1986-1987)
PDG Philip S. Brown (1985-1986)
PDG Richard D. Meisky (1984-1985)
PDG Frank H. (Chip) Wood (1983-1984)
PDG Buck Campbell (1983-1984)
PDG Wade Phillips (1982-1983)
PDG Felton J. Capel (1981-1982)
PDG Marcus B. Crotts (1980-1981)
PDG Thomas F. McKnight (1979-1980)
PDG Sam Cranford (1978-1979)
PDG Frank H. (Chip) Wood (1977-1978)
PDG Robert L. Sprinkle (1976-1977)
PDG T.C. Plexico (1975-1976)
PDG Bud Toler (1974-1975)
PDG W.D. Lee (1973-1974)
PDG David Rankin (1972-1973)
PDG Dick Johnson (1971-1972)
PDG Charles Wesley Lowry (1970-1971)
PDG Henry Wilburn Anderson (1969-1970)
PDG Austin M. Garriss (1968-1969)
PDG John A. (Jack) Dibb (1967-1968)
PDG James F. Lambeth, Jr. (1966-1967)
PDG Leo J. Heer (1965-1966)
PDG Floyd L. Knight (1964-1965)
PDG Charles Wiley Phillips, Sr. (1963-1964)
PDG John W. Harden (1962-1963)
PDG Carl Vann Tyner (1961-1962)
PDG Walter C. Odell, Sr. (1960-1961)
PDG John Spurgeon Edwards (1959-1960)
PDG Henry W. (Hal) Little, Jr. (1958-1959)
PDG Harry Brown Finch (1957-1958)

An extraordinary collection of Rotary graphics
The Rotary name and logo are the exclusive property of Rotary International and are used here under Rotary International Guidelines.
Special thanks to Tord Elfwendahl of the Stockholm Strand Rotaryklub (Sweden) for his incredible Rotary graphic images which we have used throughout this web site. You can use them too. (Other Rotary graphics can be found on the Rotary International Website.)
Please address comments, corrections or concerns about this Website to Phil Morris, Web Manager

© Rotary District 7690. All rights reserved.