Rotary District 7690 - Piedmont NC - Zone 33

Home Club Administration Public Image Membership Service Projects The Rotary Foundation Youth Service District and Club Database Other Rotary Resources

Where is District 7690

District Governor
Charles Younce

About Charles Younce

Charlie was born August 5, 1937 in Greensboro, North Carolina. He graduated from the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill in1959, where he also attended law school, class of 1961.

He married Elizabeth Eickhorn Younce in 1964 and they have two children and four grandchildren.

He served in the United States Marine Corps from 1960 to 1965 with the rank of Corporal.

For twenty-two years he was employed by a large multi-state corporation where he had a broad range of legal responsibilities. In 1986 he entered the private practice of law as a partner in the law firm of Younce & Moore, LLC.

He is a member of the North Carolina State Bar, and the American, North Carolina, and Greensboro Bar Associations. He served as president of the Greensboro Bar Association in 1996-97. He is a past chairman of the Senior Lawyers Division, member of the executive committee, and served on the board of directors of the North Carolina Bar Association from 2003-2006.

He also served as a member of the Conference for Presidents of the North Carolina State Bar, which he chaired in 2001-02.

He began his community involvement with the American Red Cross and served as local chairman in 1977-79. He is past chairman of the board of directors of The Nussbaum Center for Entrepreneurship, past chairman of the board of Goodwill Industries of Central North Carolina, and member of the Greensboro Sports Council.

Charlie served as president and chairman of the board of directors of the United Way of Greater Greensboro and the United Way of North Carolina, president of the Guilford County Alumni Chapter of the UNC Alumni Association, president of the United Arts Council, chairman of the Carolina Theatre Commission and chairman of the Greensboro Area Convention and Visitors Bureau. He received the 1985 Executive of the Year award from Professional Secretaries International.

He served on the board of trustees at Greensboro Day School and on the Parents Council board of directors.

He is active in First Presbyterian Church in Greensboro and served as elder and clerk of the session.

Charlie joined the Rotary Club of Greensboro in 1971 and served as president in 1981-82. He served as district governor in 1994-95. He is a Paul Harris Fellow, and Rotary Foundation Benefactor.

-PRID Ken Morgan (2017)

DGND Van Lankford (2023-2024)
DGN Debbie Scott (2022-2023)
DGE Chris Justice (2021-2022)

DG Tommy Rosser (2020-2021)

PDG Randy Perkins (2019-2020)
PDG Claudia Cannady (2018-2019)
PDG Lloyd Navarro (2017-2018)
PDG Jon Spillman (2016-2017)
PDG Larry Lassiter (2015-2016)
PDG Patrick Eakes (2014-2015)
PDG Cookie Billings (2013-2014)
PDG Rick Snider (2012-2013)
PDG Terry Titus (2011-2012)
PDG Wes Patterson (2010-2011)
PDG Michael Conrad (2009-2010)
PDG Charles Allen (2008-2009)
PDG David McCoy (2007-2008)
PDG Mitzi Ellis (2006-2007)
PDG Phil Morris (2005-2006)
PDG Don Allred (2004-2005)
PDG Bob Newton (2003-2004)
PDG Henry Brown (2002-2003)
PDG Stuart Fountain (2001-2002)
PDG Jack Green (2000-2001)
PDG John B. Haynes (1999-2000)
PDG Stuart Fountain (1998-1999)
PDG D. Kim Setliff (1997-1998)
PDG Carol Summerlin (1996-1997)
PDG Arnold King (1995-1996)
PDG Charles Younce (1994-1995)
PDG Wilbur Handcock (1993-1994)
PDG Ray Taylor (1992-1993)
PDG Everett Padgett (1991-1992)
PDG John Justice (1990-1991)
PDG William Smith Kirk (1989-1990)
PDG Ralph H. Bowden (1988-1989)
PDG W.B. Hull (1987-1988)
PDG Albert M. Ankrom (1986-1987)
PDG Philip S. Brown (1985-1986)
PDG Richard D. Meisky (1984-1985)
PDG Frank H. (Chip) Wood (1983-1984)
PDG Buck Campbell (1983-1984)
PDG Wade Phillips (1982-1983)
PDG Felton J. Capel (1981-1982)
PDG Marcus B. Crotts (1980-1981)
PDG Thomas F. McKnight (1979-1980)
PDG Sam Cranford (1978-1979)
PDG Frank H. (Chip) Wood (1977-1978)
PDG Robert L. Sprinkle (1976-1977)
PDG T.C. Plexico (1975-1976)
PDG Bud Toler (1974-1975)
PDG W.D. Lee (1973-1974)
PDG David Rankin (1972-1973)
PDG Dick Johnson (1971-1972)
PDG Charles Wesley Lowry (1970-1971)
PDG Henry Wilburn Anderson (1969-1970)
PDG Austin M. Garriss (1968-1969)
PDG John A. (Jack) Dibb (1967-1968)
PDG James F. Lambeth, Jr. (1966-1967)
PDG Leo J. Heer (1965-1966)
PDG Floyd L. Knight (1964-1965)
PDG Charles Wiley Phillips, Sr. (1963-1964)
PDG John W. Harden (1962-1963)
PDG Carl Vann Tyner (1961-1962)
PDG Walter C. Odell, Sr. (1960-1961)
PDG John Spurgeon Edwards (1959-1960)
PDG Henry W. (Hal) Little, Jr. (1958-1959)
PDG Harry Brown Finch (1957-1958)

An extraordinary collection of Rotary graphics
The Rotary name and logo are the exclusive property of Rotary International and are used here under Rotary International Guidelines.
Special thanks to Tord Elfwendahl of the Stockholm Strand Rotaryklub (Sweden) for his incredible Rotary graphic images which we have used throughout this web site. You can use them too. (Other Rotary graphics can be found on the Rotary International Website.)
Please address comments, corrections or concerns about this Website to Phil Morris, Web Manager

© Rotary District 7690. All rights reserved.