Rotary District 7690 - Piedmont NC - Zone 33

Home Club Administration Public Image Membership Service Projects The Rotary Foundation Youth Service District and Club Database Other Rotary Resources

Where is District 7690

District Governor
Carol Summerlin
(click on photo to enlarge)

About Carol Summerlin

Carol was born June 2, 1944 in Wilson, North Carolina. 

She graduated from Rock Ridge High School in 1962.  She attended East Carolina University and graduated Magna Cum Laude from Atlantic Christian College (Barton College) in 1966.  She completed her master’s in educational administration at UNC Greensboro in 1976.  She also completed the Principal’s Executive Program at UNC Chapel Hill.

She is married to Gerald Terry Summerlin and they have two children.

Carol began her career as an elementary school teacher in Johnston County schools.  She also taught in Wilson City from 1966 -1970.  In 1970, she moved to Madison-Mayodan City Schools.  She was assistant principal at Scott-Lassiter Elementary School.  In 1976, she became principal at John W. Dillard School in Madison-Mayodan.
From 1978 to 1998, she was employed with Rockingham County Schools.  She briefly left education to work as a travel agent but in 2002 returned as principal of an alternative learning program for Rockingham Youth Services where she worked until retirement in 2010.  

Carol’s community involvement included president of the Madison-Mayodan Junior Service League, president of the Rockingham County Principals Association, president of Rockingham County Partnership for Children, and vice-president of the United Way of Rockingham County,

Carol is active member of First Baptist Church of Madison where she served as director of the children’s choir, bible school teacher, and chairman of the board of deacons.

Carol joined the Rotary Club of Mayodan (now Madison-Mayodan) in December 1987 and served as the first woman president in 1990-91.  She served as member or chairman of many club committees.  She became district governor in 1996-97 and was one of the first 18 women district governors.  She served at the district level as chairman of the Interact, public relations, and foundation scholarship selection.

She served as Discussion Leader at Carolinas’ PETS and on Zone Institute committees.  She served as chairman of the Southland Breakfast at the 2006 RI Copenhagen Convention.

She was a Rotary International President’s Representative and district representative to the 2004 Council on Legislation.

-PRID Ken Morgan (2017)

DGND Van Lankford (2023-2024)
DGN Debbie Scott (2022-2023)
DGE Chris Justice (2021-2022)

DG Tommy Rosser (2020-2021)

PDG Randy Perkins (2019-2020)
PDG Claudia Cannady (2018-2019)
PDG Lloyd Navarro (2017-2018)
PDG Jon Spillman (2016-2017)
PDG Larry Lassiter (2015-2016)
PDG Patrick Eakes (2014-2015)
PDG Cookie Billings (2013-2014)
PDG Rick Snider (2012-2013)
PDG Terry Titus (2011-2012)
PDG Wes Patterson (2010-2011)
PDG Michael Conrad (2009-2010)
PDG Charles Allen (2008-2009)
PDG David McCoy (2007-2008)
PDG Mitzi Ellis (2006-2007)
PDG Phil Morris (2005-2006)
PDG Don Allred (2004-2005)
PDG Bob Newton (2003-2004)
PDG Henry Brown (2002-2003)
PDG Stuart Fountain (2001-2002)
PDG Jack Green (2000-2001)
PDG John B. Haynes (1999-2000)
PDG Stuart Fountain (1998-1999)
PDG D. Kim Setliff (1997-1998)
PDG Carol Summerlin (1996-1997)
PDG Arnold King (1995-1996)
PDG Charles Younce (1994-1995)
PDG Wilbur Handcock (1993-1994)
PDG Ray Taylor (1992-1993)
PDG Everett Padgett (1991-1992)
PDG John Justice (1990-1991)
PDG William Smith Kirk (1989-1990)
PDG Ralph H. Bowden (1988-1989)
PDG W.B. Hull (1987-1988)
PDG Albert M. Ankrom (1986-1987)
PDG Philip S. Brown (1985-1986)
PDG Richard D. Meisky (1984-1985)
PDG Frank H. (Chip) Wood (1983-1984)
PDG Buck Campbell (1983-1984)
PDG Wade Phillips (1982-1983)
PDG Felton J. Capel (1981-1982)
PDG Marcus B. Crotts (1980-1981)
PDG Thomas F. McKnight (1979-1980)
PDG Sam Cranford (1978-1979)
PDG Frank H. (Chip) Wood (1977-1978)
PDG Robert L. Sprinkle (1976-1977)
PDG T.C. Plexico (1975-1976)
PDG Bud Toler (1974-1975)
PDG W.D. Lee (1973-1974)
PDG David Rankin (1972-1973)
PDG Dick Johnson (1971-1972)
PDG Charles Wesley Lowry (1970-1971)
PDG Henry Wilburn Anderson (1969-1970)
PDG Austin M. Garriss (1968-1969)
PDG John A. (Jack) Dibb (1967-1968)
PDG James F. Lambeth, Jr. (1966-1967)
PDG Leo J. Heer (1965-1966)
PDG Floyd L. Knight (1964-1965)
PDG Charles Wiley Phillips, Sr. (1963-1964)
PDG John W. Harden (1962-1963)
PDG Carl Vann Tyner (1961-1962)
PDG Walter C. Odell, Sr. (1960-1961)
PDG John Spurgeon Edwards (1959-1960)
PDG Henry W. (Hal) Little, Jr. (1958-1959)
PDG Harry Brown Finch (1957-1958)

An extraordinary collection of Rotary graphics
The Rotary name and logo are the exclusive property of Rotary International and are used here under Rotary International Guidelines.
Special thanks to Tord Elfwendahl of the Stockholm Strand Rotaryklub (Sweden) for his incredible Rotary graphic images which we have used throughout this web site. You can use them too. (Other Rotary graphics can be found on the Rotary International Website.)
Please address comments, corrections or concerns about this Website to Phil Morris, Web Manager

© Rotary District 7690. All rights reserved.